Get Updates

Boards and Commissions

The City has an active Downtown Development Authority (DDA), Planning Commission and Urban Redevelopment Agency (URA). The Mayor and Council appoints members to all boards. The roles are voluntary. All three boards typically meet at 6:00pm in Council Chambers at City Hall.

Downtown Development Authority

The Doraville Downtown Development Authority (DDDA) was created by a Resolution of the Mayor and City Council on May 20, 2013. Pursuant to State law (OCGA 36-42-2), the body’s primary mission is to “revitalize and redevelop” the City’s central business district (map). In addition, the State tasks DDAs with promoting and developing “trade, commerce, industry and employment opportunities” for the general welfare of the State. To accomplish this, DDAs can receive grants and loans, acquire and improve property, enter into contracts and provide bond financing. The DDDA Board of Directors meets quarterly at City Hall. For more information, visit the DDDA webpage or contact the Economic Development Department at 770-451-8745.

Board of Directors

Jack Halpern, Chair Term Expires 5/19 Jack.halpern@doravillega.us
Chris Avers, Vice Chair Term Expires 5/19 Chris.avers@doravillega.us
Kevin McCarron, Secretary Term Expires 5/19 Kevin.mccarron@doravillega.us
Jonathan Wallace, Treasurer Term Expires 5/19 Jonathan.wallace@doravillega.us
Bryan Tate Term Expires 5/17 Bryan.tate@doravillega.us
Seth Fischer Term Expires 5/17 Seth.fischer@doravillega.us
Harold Shinn Term Expires 5/19 Harold.shinn@doravillega.us


Planning Commission

The Doraville Planning Commission meets on the first Wednesday of each month at City Hall. The Commission considers and recommends zoning ordinance amendments, zoning changes, land use changes and special use permits to the City Council. The Commission may also be utilized to do research on other issues at the direction of Council. To schedule a hearing with the Commission or for more information, contact the Community Development Department at 770-451-8745.

Thom Abbott, Chair Term Expires 1/19 Thom.abbott@doravillega.us
Elton Mile, Vice Chair Term Expires 1/19 Elton.mile@doravillega.us
Susan Crawford, Secretary Term Expires 4/17 Susan.crawford@doravillega.us
Jason Jones Term Expires 4/17 Jason.jones@doravillega.us
Danielle Brown Term Expires 4/17 Danielle.brown@doravillega.us


For more information, click here.

Urban Redevelopment Agency

The Urban Redevelopment Agency (URA) was created by the City Council on July 8, 2014 to assume the project management powers of a potential Tax Allocation District. URAs, a cousin to development authorities and DDAs, may also issue Industrial Development Revenue Bonds. URAs are enabled by State statute (OCGA 36-61-18).

Board of Commissioners

Maria Alexander, Chair Term Expires 9/18 Maria.alexander@doravillega.us
Kevin McCarron, Vice Chair Term Expires 5/19 Kevin.mccarron@doravillega.us
Robert Patrick Term Expires 12/17 Robert.patrick@doravillega.us
Harold Shinn, Treasurer Term Expires 5/19 Harold.shinn@doravillega.us
Pam Fleming Term Expires 12/19 Pam.fleming@doravillega.us
Dawn O’Connor Term Expires 12/17 Dawn.oconnor@doravillega.us
Warren Simmons Term Expires 9/18 Warren.simmons@doravillega.us

To apply for a position on a citizen board, complete the candidate board/commission application and submit to the City Clerk in person, by mail to City Clerk, 3725 Park Avenue, Doraville, GA 30340, fax 770-936-3862) or email to city.clerk@doravillega.us.